Malawi ratifies the Nuclear Ban Treaty

Malawi has become the latest state to formally join the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons – confirming the move at the United Nations last week. The latest in a slew of ratifications takes the total number of states having joined the Treaty to 66.

Malawi is the 14th African state to ratify the Treaty, joining South Africa, Benin, the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Nigeria, Namibia, Botswana, Lesotho, Côte d’Ivoire, Comoros, Congo, Cabo Verde and the Syechelles.

Last month states gathered in Vienna to discuss the progress of the Treaty, as well as the next steps, for the first time. Amongst the states that joined the meeting were NATO members Norway, Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands alongside Australia. unfortunately all of the nuclear-armed states chose to stay away.

At a time when the risk of nuclear weapons being used is higher than in the last 60 years, we commend the leadership of states like Malawi in continuing to pursue a different way of conducting international affairs.

Please join us as we thank God for the decision of Malawi to ratify the Treaty and for all those campaigners who worked to ensure this step was made. We continue to also pray for the leaders of all other states, including the nine nuclear-armed states, to join the TPNW and move towards a nuclear weapons-free world.

Skip to content