Ecuador ratifies the Ban Treaty

Ecuador has become the 27th state to ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, a Treaty which will ban nuclear weapons in the same way as chemical and biological weapons have previously been banned. The Treaty was agreed in 2017 with the support of 122 states.

South America has been leading the way on the new Treaty and Ecuador becomes the tenth state from the continent to Ratify the Treaty. The other states so far are Mexico, Cuba, Venezuela, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Uruguay, El Salvador, Panama and Bolivia.

Fernando Luque, an Ecuadorian diplomat based at the United Nations described the move as “one of the highest moments” of his 25 year career. He went on to say that with the move Ecuador “reaffirms its firm and decade long commitment to a world free of nuclear weapons”.

Further states are expected to formally ratify the Treaty on Thursday 26 September as part of a Signing Ceremony during the United Nations General Assembly.

Please join Christian CND as we thank God for the move by Ecuador and pray for other states to sign the Treaty, bringing it into force quickly.

Skip to content