El Salvador joins the Ban Treaty

El Salvador has become a party to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons following official confirmation at the United Nations on Wednesday 30 January. El Salvador could not officially ratify the Treaty as many others have done, because it did not take part in the negotiations in 2017. It becomes the sixth state from the Association of Caribbean States to become a party to the Treaty following Cuba, Costa Rica, Guyana and Nicaragua. St Lucia also became a party to the Treaty last week.

The Treaty will ban nuclear weapons in the same way as chemical and biological weapons have previously been banned, mainly due to their catastrophic humanitarian consequences. These were shown starkly in both Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

The Treaty will come into force once 29 more states become party to the Treaty, expected to be sometime in the next 18 months.

In March we will be visiting Embassies in London to discuss the Treaty and encourage NATO member states to engage with it. You can get involved in our campaign:

Find out more about the Embassies Walk
Join us in prayer
Become a member of Christian CND

Skip to content