Dominica ratifies the Ban Treaty

Dominica has become the latest state to ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, becoming the 33rd state to do so.

The Treaty, which was agreed by the United Nations in July 2017, will enter into force when 50 states complete the ratification process. It will see nuclear weapons banned in the same way that chemical, biological and cluster munitions have already been banned. The agreement of the Treaty led to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, of which Christian CND is a member, being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2017.

Dominica signed the Treaty at a ceremony in New York last month and has been able to complete domestic steps necessary for ratification to take place. More than 45 other states are currently in the process of doing the same, and it is hoped that the Treaty will enter into force in 2020.

Dominica is the 11th state from the Association of Caribbean States to join the Treaty, joining Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela, St Lucia, Panama, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Cuba, El Salvador, Mexico, Nicaragua and Guyana. No other regional grouping in the world has more states having completed ratification.

Please join us as we thank God for the decision of the Dominican government to ratify the Treaty and pray that further states will do so soon, and that nuclear-armed states, including the UK, will engage with the Treaty and seek opportunities towards nuclear disarmament.

Read Christian CND briefing on the Ban Treaty
Become a member of Christian CND

Skip to content