Zimbabwe signs the Ban Treaty

Zimbabwe has become the 85th state to sign the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, announcing the move over the weekend as the number of days until the Treaty comes into international law reached 50. The Treaty will make nuclear weapons illegal from Friday 22 January 2021.

Zimbabwe is the 25th African state to sign the Treaty, with six having already completed the domestic processes for ratification. Those six are Botswana, The Gambia, Nigeria, Lesotho, South Africa and Namibia. Zimbabwe will join the other states in concluding its process for formally joining the Treaty through ratification.

Africa is one of many nuclear weapons-free zones around the world, thanks to the Treaty of Pelindaba, which entered into legal force in 2009. South Africa is the only African state to have possessed nuclear weapons, but they were given up at the end of the 1980’s and South Africa is now a leading voice for nuclear disarmament in the international arena.

Please join us as we thank God for the decision of the Government of Zimbabwe to sign the Treaty and pray that they would quickly be able to complete the ratification. Also pray that more states, including the 9 nuclear-armed states, would be willing to engage with the Treaty in the weeks and months to come as the build up continues towards the Treaty entering into law.

Find out more about the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons
Join Christian CND and help support our work
Find out how we’re marking entry into force


Skip to content