Panama ratifies the Nuclear Ban Treaty

Panama has become the latest state to ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, which was agreed at the United Nations with the support of 122 states in July 2017.

Panama is the 23rd state to ratify the Treaty, joining other Central American states including Mexico, Guyana and Costa Rica in doing so. The Treaty will come into force once 50 states complete the ratification process. So far more than 70 states have signed the Treaty and are currently undertaking their domestic processes for ratification.

Christian CND congratulates Panama on becoming the latest state to sign the Treaty, and pays tribute to those who campaigned for this to happen, as well as the politicians who took the decisions. Unfortunately the UK, along with the other nuclear-armed states, have yet to engage with the Treaty. We pray that this will change in the coming months as we continue our work for a nuclear weapons-free world.

Skip to content